A ‘lil bit of Awesome

Hi everyone,

As you may know by now, on Friday’s I share my favourite pins with you from the week. Although Pinterest is still a great source of inspiration for me, I’ve decided to broaden the blog horizon and include things that haven’t appeared on Pinterest, but just things I found through reading design blogs and looking at other designers work. I hope you don’t mind and I hope that you enjoy this weeks snippets of inspiration 🙂 Here goes…

First up is the wonderful work of children’s book illustrator Julie Fortenberry.

For the last month or so, I’ve been working on some ideas for a children’s book and so have been floating around looking for  inspiration. I love Julie’s illustrations because of the hand drawn feel and the wonderful colours she uses. They really capture the imagination and they certainly inspired me.

On to fine art next where I discovered some work from 17C French painter Pierre-Auguste Cot on the Lines and Colours blog. I’m not generally a lover of fine art but this painting ‘Springtime’ really captured me. It’s such a romantic image and brings to mind fairytales and mythology, all the things I love and the look she’s giving her companion is so flirty it’s wonderful! His paintings are in the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.

I don’t think we can get more diversified with all these various types of art, oh wait maybe. Here’s a wonderful logo designs from designer Brandon Green who I discovered on Dribble.

The design is so curvaceous and beautiful, I love it. It’s elegant and stylish it makes you want to hire them immediately! haha!

Also on my love list this week is the work of illustrator Emily Dove who I also discovered through Dribble. Her is so soft and lovely and I love the colours. She also has lots of lovely work available on her Society 6 store, go see.


Next is some wonderful work from Mutt Ink, a multi-disciplinary creative studio, the imaginative effort of Jeremy Holmes. Their work has been featured in publications such as American Illustration, 3×3, How, Print, I.D., Communication Arts, and CMYK; at such events as the Flash Forward Film Festival and Society of Illustrators Exhibition; and on-line for Juztapoz and Adobe.

I am in absolute awe of the details in the illustrations. Looking at them is such a pleasure because you see, but then you can go exploring with your eyes and keep discovering wonderful little elements. It’s such a wonderful mix of creepy and cute! I love it all! I’ll definitely be buying some prints soon!

And last but not least is the work of a wonderfully talented illustrator and friend Anna Gwenllian. Her hand drawn illustration bewilder and you can’t help but fall in love with them. From birds to buildings to beautiful women, she captures them wonderfully and her use of colour really makes them unique! I urge you to go and look at her work and you can also find her on twitter: @AnnaGwenllian. Go say hi!

That’s all for this week, hope you had fun! See you next time! Oh and while you’re here… it would be wonderful if you could go and vote for my t-shirt design on Threadless! I need as many votes as possible for it to get made! Pretty please? Click here & just click number 5 🙂 thanks!

One thought on “A ‘lil bit of Awesome

Leave a Reply

