Inky and The Rain

Hi everyone!

I hope everyone’s having a lovely bank holiday weekend! Although the weather hasn’t been at it’s best it’s been eventful all the same and sometimes, only sometimes though, I quite look forward to a rainy day so that I can have an excuse to stay in and do some doodling. Today has been a perfect day for that and I’ve really enjoyed myself πŸ™‚

I do so love to doodle but ever since school I just haven’t been able to stick to a style. I always get bored after a few days of drawing the same way and have to try something different and I think I’m in a never ending cycle of changes. I go from simple black & white line drawings of characters (some you can see here), to experimenting with decorative typography like here, to all over pattern designs like here and very cartoon style designs which I’m currently doing for Milkprint and will be included in their Surtex exhibition this May! Unfortunately I can’t show you those yet. Hopefully soon! This week, I brought out the inks again. I’ve always loved the illustration style of people like Quentin Blake obviously famous for his illustration work in Roald Dahl books, and also the style of Ernest H. Shepard who illustrated the most famous bear ever and one of my favourite characters, Winnie The Pooh. I grew up with these Dahl and Milne stories and they will forever be imprinted in my memory and those illustrations always make me feel warm and fuzzy inside. In fact, it’s because of these that I have the huge dream of one day having the opportunity to illustrate a children’s book. As of yet I haven’t had the chance, so if anyone’s listening out there that could point me in the direction of a fairy godmother I’d be extremely grateful!

Anyway, with these in mind I brought out my inks and pens and started scribbling and I’m pretty pleased with the results. More than that, it’s been a lovely rainy afternoon and I’ll hopefully be making them into prints and cards for sale in my Etsy shop. Watch this space.. I hope you like them as much as I’ve enjoyed making them, please feel free to leave a comment and let me know what you think.

I thought I’d also share with you something I’ve been listening to as I’ve been doodling, just to set the scene πŸ™‚ Love this song…

5 thoughts on “Inky and The Rain

  1. Hello jess! How bizarre I too drew a girl with balloons for my friends birthday card this weekend! Must be something in the air!
    I was wondering what black pen you use for your illustrations? I’ve been experimenting with a few. Any recommendations?

Leave a comment